Wednesday, April 30, 2014

It's a Kid Thing

A sunny, warm day means time to climb a tree. Look at that kiddo who made it all the way to the top of this one in Camel's Back Park.

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Weird is Good

One of the murals in Freak Alley.

Monday, April 28, 2014

Green Trees, Green Grass, White Mountains

This is totally normal for April. Folks are eager for summer, but those kinds of temperatures are still about a month away. 

Sunday, April 27, 2014

Make Way for Ducklings

Mama is marching her babies through a neighborhood, headed for a park pond.

Saturday, April 26, 2014

Friday, April 25, 2014

Sky Gradient

Photo of the Capitol from the east. The gradient of the sky caught my eye the other night.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

History in the Foundation

Some old homes in Boise still have these built into the foundation. It's a coal delivery chute.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Edgy Art

Bright colors in Freak Alley on this dark and rainy day.

Monday, April 21, 2014

I Smell Spring

Lilacs are starting to bloom.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Happy Easter

Perfect Easter Sunday in Boise.

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Wicked

Wicked is in town for a couple of weeks. We saw it last night at the Morrison Center.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Yes, there were Bicycles

Sign posted as you leave the North End Organic Nursery on Hill Road.

Batter Up

Girls softball last night at Fort Boise.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Salute to the Pony Express

This is the side-view of one of the entries at the National History Day Idaho State Competition. It was an exhibit about the Pony Express.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Car Wash Promotion

Usually, sports teams and cheerleaders offer car washes on street corners - in exchange for a donation.

Church in the Nursery

You've heard of a church nursery....at Edwards Greenhouse, they have church in the nursery.

Monday, April 14, 2014

Nursery Kitty

Sweet baby napping in an empty seed potato box at North End Organic Nursery.

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Wild West

I do think of our area as the Wild West, but we don't have any cacti like the one depicted here.

Saturday, April 12, 2014

Friday, April 11, 2014

Deep Sea Diving

This underwater scene is in Freak Alley. Have wonderful weekend adventures.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Escape Artist

This little guy was a traffic-stopper last night, as in all the traffic stopped, turned on hazard lights and tracked down his dad. Turns out, this toddler is an escape artist.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Learning on the Road

Spring is driver's education season in Idaho. A driver's permit can be issued at age 15.

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Potholes

It's pothole season. There are some big ones this year on roads and in parking lots. Try to avoid them. They can damage your tires and car.

Monday, April 7, 2014

Sunday, April 6, 2014

The Wasps are Waking Up

This one was discovered in a pile of leaves in a garden bed. Only females ready to lay eggs live through the winter. All the males die. This means wasp (also called a yellow jacket around here) season will be buzzing in about a month.

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Spudtown Knockdown

It's a roller derby tournament weekend in Boise. The Treasure Valley Rollergirls were down by more than 30 points, but won in the last two minutes. They defeated the Intense City Rollers (Port Orchard/Port Angeles, WA).

Friday, April 4, 2014

Boise Cool Cat

Have a great weekend!

Thursday, April 3, 2014

No Rain for the Mountains

We're getting a break from the showers and wow. The mountains have plenty of fresh snow. Some locals say it's not time to plant a spring garden until this snow-view is gone. It could be a while.

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Tub Landscaping

I'm betting this tub will be full of flowers later this spring.

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Puddles

It's a squishy, muddy world in Boise this week.