Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Free! But, There's a Catch

Fun sign outside of a veterinary office in Eagle.

Monday, September 26, 2016

Hints of Autumn

Temps in the 80s this week will make it feel like summer, but the trees are telling a different story.

Friday, September 9, 2016

Hall of Foam

One of the sights behind the doors featured yesterday - at Old Chicago.

Thursday, September 8, 2016

Pizza Portal

Front door of Old Chicago, downtown Boise.

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Monarch Butterfly Snack Time

I keep a few monarchs for educational purposes, and I feed them by hand. They like Gatorade! Monarch butterflies are stopping in our yards and gardens for snacks as they make their way south. The monarch is the state insect of Idaho, yet little is known about where they go for the winter, or where they travel to in the spring. The guess is that most Idaho monarchs go to coastal California. Tagging projects may prove that to be true (I have tagged 3 this year), or it may be that some monarchs go to Mexico.

Learn more in this article and video I did with the Idaho Statesman. If you want to help these royal butterflies, plant milkweed for their babies and plant lots of flowers to fuel migratory energy.

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Monday, September 5, 2016

Japan Day

Japan Day in Downtown Boise, Sunday. Dancing, crafts, food and a flea market.

Sunday, September 4, 2016

Garage Cyclops

Striking art in the Boise State University Lincoln garage helps with way-finding.

Saturday, September 3, 2016

Hunting Season Reminder

A reminder at Lowe's that hunting season begins soon.

Friday, September 2, 2016