Saturday, April 30, 2016

Last House Standing?

Possibly the last home on Fairview Ave. With the For Sale sign, the guess is that it will be torn down to make way for retail.

Friday, April 29, 2016

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Fence Post Face

Is it a lion? A horse?

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Freak Alley Character

An interesting character in Freak Alley - the city's open-air gallery of murals and aerosol art.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Brick History


History at the Boise Depot.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Columbine Blooming

Columbine is blooming. There are many different shades, from peaches and pinks to blues.

Sunday, April 24, 2016

Latte Love

Sign outside Big City Coffee in the Linen District.

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Pink Trucker Pin Up

Seen in the parking garage at St. Luke's Hospital.

Friday, April 22, 2016

Remodeling and Bricks

I previously knew this as a film developing store (Timeless Photos?). Los Beto's has a new location and the site is being remodeled. The bricks and smokestack might offer clues as to what businesses used to be at this site?

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Capitol Protestor

A lone protestor at the Capitol this week. He said he didn't want to talk about it with me, but he would pose for a photo.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Capitol and Blue Skies

Amazing blue skies today in Boise.

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

View from the Boise Depot Tower

Trips top the top of the tower are available Sundays and Mondays. You have to take the elevator. The public is not allowed on the stairs.

Monday, April 18, 2016

Cool Cars

Some of the vintage cars on display to celebrate the Boise Depot birthday.

Sunday, April 17, 2016

Boise Depot Birthday Party

Every year, there is a celebration of the Boise Depot. It was created as a passenger train station, although there are no passenger trains to or from Boise anymore.

Saturday, April 16, 2016

Toy Adventure

Mural at a collector toy store on Chinden. Thousands of treasures!

Friday, April 15, 2016

Old Car and Sunshine


An extra cheery scene on Ustick near Locust Grove. 

Photo credit: Bryan Carter

Thursday, April 14, 2016

Wildflowers

Arrowleaf balsamroot, Balsamorhiza sagittata (Pursh Nutt.), dots the Boise Foothills each spring. The flower faces follow the sun. The whole plant is yummy for wildlife. Natives used it for food and medicine.

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Art on the Fence

One of the pieces on the fence at the Linen Building. Artist: Tony Caprai.

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Lilac Time in Boise

A delicious scent of spring in Boise.

Monday, April 11, 2016

Pizza Love Art

Customers make art for the love of pizza on the comment cards at Flying Pie.

Sunday, April 10, 2016

Table Rock Art

New piece by Sector Seventeen at Table Rock.

Saturday, April 9, 2016

Boise Car Upholstery

Such a cool service station building. A preserved treasure in Boise.

Friday, April 8, 2016

John Wayne Treasure Trove

One of several stand-ups offered at an estate sale, where a whole room was filled with John Wayne memorabilia.

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Rudy's New Home

Rudy has a new home. The giant rooster on top of Jim's Coffee Shop - which closed recently - is now spinning on top of the Capris sign.

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Orchids and Air Plants

A visit to Janet Crist's spectacular orchid and air plant greenhouse. Wow.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Surf's Up - Even in our Land-locked State

At first, it doesn't make sense, but there is surfing in Idaho in rivers. We have a white-water park in town where folks surf, paddleboard, boggieboard and kayak. This image is from a tshirt found in a thrift store.

Monday, April 4, 2016

Turntable Window Shopping

Vintage turntable display in a Downtown Boise shop window.

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Potato Art

Utility box art in Downtown Boise.

Saturday, April 2, 2016

20th Century Bowling in the 21st Century

I'm glad they didn't change their name with the change of the century. On State Street at Collister.

Friday, April 1, 2016

Wild Animals and a Toilet?

My goodness. There is a lot going on here and I love it all! This is a yard in the Collister Neighborhood.