Thursday, April 30, 2015

Streetcar Public Art

A close-up of utility box art. Although this depicts a streetcar, we do not have streetcars in Boise today. The city did have streetcars in the late 1800s.

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Cool Car Alert

Stylin' on the streets in Downtown Boise.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Monday, April 27, 2015

New Bicycle Rental System

Self-serve bicycle rental kiosks have been installed at several locations. $4 an hour.

Sunday, April 26, 2015

Hello, Big Green Kitty

Upcycled cat display at a thrift store.

Saturday, April 25, 2015

Petrified

A polished slice of petrified wood. This was offered at a rock and gem sale.

Friday, April 24, 2015

Cinder Block House

It might have been a business years ago?

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Barbie Chandelier

The gift shop at the Record Exchange. Keeping Boise quirky.

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Carpool Art

This art-wrapped utility box is at Fairview and Curtis - in front of the offices of a carpool/vanpool organization.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Weeds or Wishes?

I can go either way, but let me also say I'm glad that is not my yard.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Hello Monday!

video
Solar-powered toys in a window.

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Except that One Thing

Found this at an estate sale. The deceased man's daughter was clearing the house to put it up for sale.

Saturday, April 18, 2015

Artwork at the Red Lion

This relief sculpture is over one of the entrances to the Red Lion Downtowner hotel. And there's me in the car, taking the photo :)

Friday, April 17, 2015

Thursday, April 16, 2015

A Frontier Relic

This cool hitching post is on Jefferson near Third Street.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Shades of the Boise Depot


This building is is at 25th and State. It reminds me of the Boise Depot [old train station]. I'll guess the same architects?

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

My Dream Home

Really. I adore this southern-styled charmer. I've never been inside, but I've already plotted how to update the landscaping...now, to win the lottery!

Monday, April 13, 2015

Hurtt House

I posted a photo of the Hurtt House a few years ago. This is an updated look. The building is part of the St. Paul Baptist Church complex downtown. The old home is used as a distribution point for clothes and other things people in need might need.

Sunday, April 12, 2015

Teen Biker

"Smile" for the camera.

Saturday, April 11, 2015

White Daffodil

Daffodil season is just about over in Boise.

Friday, April 10, 2015

Medusa Replaces Charles


"Charles," seen below, is being painted over and becoming Medusa and her snakes. This street art is at 18th and State.


Thursday, April 9, 2015

Hundreds of Blue Balloons

The balloons were released at the Idaho Capitol to honor the thousands of victims of child abuse and neglect in Idaho each year.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

St. Mary's Catholic Church

This 3D window is on the east side of the building. This style of the structure is described as neo-gothic/tudor and the building is on the National Historic Register.

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Yarn Bombed

Knit graffiti artists have been at work in the City of Trees.

Monday, April 6, 2015

Country in the City

I spy a black cat and a chicken on this charming property.

Sunday, April 5, 2015

Toddler Easter Fun

Cutie boy picking up goodies at a neighborhood party.

Saturday, April 4, 2015

Tricked Out Bicycle

I wish I would have seen someone ride this one. Looks tricky.

Friday, April 3, 2015

Busted

I was trying to be a sly street photographer...and this happened!

Thursday, April 2, 2015

Bus Stop

Street photography on State Street between 17th and 18th.

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

City Daily Photo Theme Day: My Camera-Shy Self Portrait

City Daily Photo bloggers all around the world participate in a theme day on the first of each month. This is the first time I can remember in 7 years that the organizers asked us to turn the camera on ourselves!