Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Mommy Bee Building a Nest

A leafcutter bee is busy building a nursery inside of a bean trellis.

Monday, June 29, 2015

Pokemon Party

The Garden City Library held a Pokemon party and about 80 kids showed up.

Stores are Already Stocking School Supplies

School just got out for the summer earlier this month!

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Garlic Time

Harvest time for garlic. The stalks need to be dry to "cure" the garlic before braiding or storing.

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Window Peeping at a Funeral Center

Wooden bird collection in the windowsill.

Friday, June 26, 2015

Keep Your Hummingbirds Happy

The heat wave means that hummingbird food needs to be refreshed often. Daily is best. When it's cloudy, it's yucky. Recipe: 1 part sugar, 4 parts water. Stir to dissolve. No boiling. No food color.

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Pet Giraffe

And they keep it in the front yard. Cool.

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Hello Sunflower

Seems early, but welcome beautiful flower!

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Marimba Music

An all-female marimba band performing on the second floor of Capital Terrace.

Monday, June 22, 2015

Citizen Scientists

These folks spent two days training to be monarch butterfly citizen scientists. The monarch is the Idaho state insect.

Sunday, June 21, 2015

Street Photography and Fashion

I see a manbun. Good idea to keep cool when you have long hair and Boise is enduring a heat wave.

Saturday, June 20, 2015

Bye, Anthropologie

The Downtown Boise Anthropologie has closed up shop. A new store is opening in the Village in Meridian.

Friday, June 19, 2015

Fingernail Menu

Fingernail options posted in a salon window.

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Scream for Coffee

Truth. This sign is outside the Crux Coffeehouse.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Mobile Office

A tiny, mobile "office" parked in Downtown Boise. Cute waiting room, too.

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Veggies are Good for You

This little shack display is at Edward's Greenhouse and Nursery.

Monday, June 15, 2015

Nursery Greeters

The friendly team of greeters at North End Organic Nursery.

Sunday, June 14, 2015

Ice Cream Street Art

This mural at State and 18th has a new addition with geometric shapes, swirls and a tongue!

Saturday, June 13, 2015


Sticker decor for this bench in Downtown Boise.

Friday, June 12, 2015

A Peek Behind the Eyes

I found an opening behind the sad eyes mural and saw signs of life inside the old Bon Marche location in Downtown Boise.

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Vintage Sidewalk Seating

A place to take a break in the shade in Downtown Boise.

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Security Gates

This type of gating is more often seen in big cities, than in Boise. I hope it's a temporary gate.

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Alive After Five Break

Folks resting in the grassy area of The Grove during the weekly free concert.

Monday, June 8, 2015

Sign Restored

The old Olympic Hotel sign has been prettied up. The old hotel portion of the building is re-opening soon as an events center.

Sunday, June 7, 2015

What's Going On?

Event board in Downtown Boise. Better option than utility poles.

Saturday, June 6, 2015


The "corner offices" must be interesting in this building in Downtown Boise.

Friday, June 5, 2015

Street Coffee

Outdoor seating at The District Coffeehouse in Downtown Boise.

Thursday, June 4, 2015

Alive After Five

There is a large construction project adjacent to the Grove, but the Alive After Five summer concert series won't be affected. Kick-off was last night. It was nice to see the foundation back on!

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Last Day of School

It's been a week of "last days" for schools, as they dismiss for the summer break. Lowell Scott Middle School's last day was today. This student was checking out results of the yearbook signing.

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Idaho Love

Sign in a window of a downtown shop.

Monday, June 1, 2015


I didn't know ATMs ever dispensed $5.