Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Lost Exercise Ball

Interesting messages from the solar system.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Window Peeping

How nice for this person to share art in their window. Made me smile.

Monday, July 28, 2014

BUGS: Boise Urban Garden School

Kiddos learn about growing food, providing habitat, selling produce and preparing food at BUGS.

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Guitar Solo

Musician art on the side of a building in downtown.

Saturday, July 26, 2014

I See a Funny Face

When you see a face in a random object: pareidolia.

Friday, July 25, 2014

It's So Shiny

Gotta wear shades just to admire this beauty.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Owyhee Hotel

The historic Owyhee Hotel, also know as the Owyhee Plaza, has undergone a renovation. Condos are for sale, and retail space below will open soon.

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Good Morning Hummingbird

This is a female black-chinned hummingbird. Hard to believe, but many hummingbirds are already migrating south.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Market Art

These ladies can be found on Overland Road.

Monday, July 21, 2014

Farewell to the Barn

 I stopped by to check on the status of the barn on Meridian Road at McMillan. It's being dismantled. Below is a photo of it from a couple of years ago.

Sunday, July 20, 2014

They're Here

Found one at Thomas Hammer coffee.

Saturday, July 19, 2014

Yes, That's a Public School

It may look like a courthouse because of the architectural detail, but this is Boise High School. Spectacular.

Friday, July 18, 2014

Last Night's Sun

Beautiful and terrible.

As IF We Even Wear Pants in the Summer

Eye-catching ad on the side of a building in Garden City.

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Smoky Skies are a Bummer for Boise

Anything that messes with enjoyment of the outdoors makes Boiseans cranky, and this smoke is tough to endure. It's coming from forest fires even beyond our state. The levels of particles in the air have reached "unhealthy" readings at several locations today.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Boise's Elephant

You can see him at the Boise Watershed.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Community Gardens

Plots of land tended by individuals, groups, organizations...these are tucked into corners all around town.This one has a few weeds. Most gardens depend on volunteers to keep them tidy.

Monday, July 14, 2014

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Wall of Weapons

The stage for Deathtrap at the Idaho Shakespeare Festival.

Saturday, July 12, 2014

Buster Bronco

Buster Bronco must be melting. 100 degrees and all that fur.

Friday, July 11, 2014

Crop Identification: Sugar Beets

Yes, the sugar in the pantry can come from sugar beets, although cane sugar is still the number one source. Although sugar beets sound like they would taste delicious, they aren't grown for eating. You can try! Many kiddos have tried to gnosh on one that fell off a harvest truck.

Thursday, July 10, 2014

I'm So 'Fanci'

Burgers and shakes for decades at Fanci Freez on State Street. A warning: if you sit at one of the tables, the squirrels will expect you to share.

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Every Street is an Art Gallery

A close-up of a utility box art piece in Downtown Boise. We have dozens of these throughout the downtown core, and a few in other neighborhoods, too.

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Hyatt Hidden Lakes Tour

HaBATaT by Boise Artist Mark Baltes. It's an origami bat.

 Canada thistle
 Great Basin rye grass
 It may look like a swimming hole...but....
 This plant is called teasel.
 Tour group in the reserve.
Wild sunflower.

Monday, July 7, 2014

Boise's Bird Man

Boise's Bird Man can be found wherever there's a crowd. The cockatoo, is his name Freddie? seems to enjoy the attention. He's also very loud. The blue macaw seems more hesitant.

Sunday, July 6, 2014

River Rescue Team

The Boise Fire Department rescue team has been busy this floating season. The river is high and fast right now. The most common accident is a raft that hits bridge pillars and pops.

Portage is at Ann Morrison Park.