Thursday, February 28, 2013


The crane at the JUMP construction site. We've got two cranes in Downtown Boise right now. That's unusual.

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Night at the Museum

When these neon swirls were installed several years ago, they created a bit of controversy because they were so party-oriented. Aren't they great? The Boise Art Museum is right across the street from the Library! - the exclamation point is part of the name. Another point of contention for a while.

Monday, February 25, 2013


The backside of an historic building in Downtown Boise.

Sunday, February 24, 2013

Which Would You Choose?

Choices. Choices. The hot sauce collection at Fork for the "do it yourself Bloody Mary bar." Can you guess which one I chose?

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Welp. It is Still Winter.

A wild night of thunder-and-lightning snow, big wind, rain and freezing rain. Wowza.

Friday, February 22, 2013

Cute Dog Logo

This business has been on Emerald at least since the 1980s, when the band Bow Wow Wow was popular. I don't think there's a connection - just a coincidence on the timeline of history :) Enjoy your weekend!

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Shed with Pony Tails

The vines look like hair to me. This shed is surrounded by newer office buildings. It's a leftover for when this area of town was a neighborhood.

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Utility Box Art - Moving out of Downtown

These public art pieces are scattered throughout downtown, and now, they're showing up in other places in the city. Nice to see.

Tuesday, February 19, 2013


This wrapping could be a colorful bandage over bark damage...or something just for fun.

Monday, February 18, 2013

Fake Trees in the City of Trees

These ultra-bright lighted trees are popping up in landscapes all over town. Here's one place that sells them. I wonder how much they are?

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Bicycle Art

This minimalist "bicycle" is in front of a deli on Emerald Street.

Saturday, February 16, 2013

Maple Syrup from the City of Trees?

It's possible. I learned about it yesterday, and no, you don't need a sugar maple for maple syrup. Red, black, even silver maples will work - they just don't give up as much sap. Plus, we tend to use systemics on our trees, and if a tree is treated, you don't want to be eating it. If you're interested, now is the time to be tapping in Boise. The basic ratio is 40:1. So, 40 cups of sap will boil down to 1 cup of syrup. A maple the size of this trunk will give about a liter of sap per day, until it seals itself off and refuses to donate any more.

Friday, February 15, 2013

Take a Chance at the Library

Blind Date with a Book! If you can't decide what to read, take your chances with this selection at the main branch of the Boise Public Library.

Thursday, February 14, 2013

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Cloudy Weirdness

Just before sunset, the clouds morphed into strange shapes above the mountains.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

New Coat of Paint

Most barns on the landscape around here are in a state of decay. It's nice to find one still in use and spiffed up.

Sunday, February 10, 2013

Oh, Target

Well, it did feel like spring was on the way yesterday...but summer? Not for a few months.

I Hope This is Me Someday....

Meet Dorothy. She lives in my neighborhood and she knows how to rock metallic gold leather pants for a trip to Starbucks. I want to be her someday.

Saturday, February 9, 2013

Bright and Breezy

The Capitol dome in Boise. The Statehouse is a busy place for the first few months every year, when the legislature convenes.

Friday, February 8, 2013

Winter Reminder

A fresh coat of white fluff this morning. Have a fabulous weekend!

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Bigfoot is a Blonde?

See for yourself at the Boise Co-op.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

City of Tree?

Boise is socked in again. Here's hoping for sun this afternoon.

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Boise 101

I found this in a second-hand store last weekend. Published in 2005, it's mostly satire and tongue-in-cheek - but this part is true: "...every person in every pickup waves or nods, and people you pass on the street say howdy. It's called being friendly."

Monday, February 4, 2013


Found these in a second-hand store over the weekend. I can't think of anything else to say...

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Socked In

The fog rolled in quickly last night.

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Melting Again

Folks are buzzing about spring this weekend.

Friday, February 1, 2013

The Key to???

Found in a pile of snowy slush this week. I hope it's the key to spring!