Thursday, January 31, 2013

Boise's Cultural District

Yes, Boise has an opera company. I was reading an article about Boise being one of the fastest-growing cities in the country, and its arts and culture atmosphere was cited as one lure.

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Art in Catalpa Park

Sharing another photo with the backdrop of yesterday's winter wonderland. This public art can be found in Catalpa Park.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Snowy Rooster

Another fresh layer of snow last night. I think it was enough to make this guy kinda tipsy.

Monday, January 28, 2013

Blue Skies Bring Happiness

This is a stand at Les Bois racetrack. I don't know if officials still climb these towers for horse races, or if it's all on camera these days. Bluebird day Sunday, after three weeks of an inversion.

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Plant Icicles

The thaw-freeze cycle has sent roof-melt onto foundation plantings.

Saturday, January 26, 2013


A morning peek at the Boise River as the ice channel widens with our warmer weather.

Friday, January 25, 2013

St. Joseph

Everything in Boise feels like it's coated with a layer of gray grime. St. Joseph is perched above the elementary school bearing his name on Fort Street.

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Lonely Lincoln

When the weather is better, he has a lot of friends. This statue is in Julia Davis Park.

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Disc Golf Course

I was hoping to catch some players, but I guess it's too cold even for them.

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Boise Needs a Bath

Hello, sun? The inversion continues and our foggy/smoky situation worsens.

Monday, January 21, 2013

Feathery Frost

Layers and layers of frost. Here's the scoop on our unusually cold weather. A weather pattern called an "inversion," has trapped cold air down low. Head to the mountains above town and it's warm. Snow-melting warm. Forty degrees at Bogus Basin ski resort over the weekend.

Sunday, January 20, 2013

Big Icicle

One of the employees at Grinkers (vintage arcade) knocked this icicle down last night.

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Looks Like Snow

But this is frost. That chain-link fence is so coated you can't see through it. Lots of diamond dust in the air today with below zero temps.

Friday, January 18, 2013

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Extra Frost

Furry frost at sunrise this morning.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013


I hope the owner of this bike didn't need to get to it any time soon.

Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Safety First

Hah. And I thought snow and ice were the only hazards.

Monday, January 14, 2013

Christmas Leftovers

It's t-t-t-tooo c-c-c-cold to spend time outside taking them down. Low this morning in NW Boise: 1.5 degrees.

Sunday, January 13, 2013

Snow Glitter

Sparkling crystals on top of the snow. Five degrees again in Boise this morning. Keep warm

Saturday, January 12, 2013

Frozen Birdhouses

Five degrees at my house this morning. Keep warm!

Friday, January 11, 2013

Street Sledding

Being pulled by a truck. Slowly and carefully. Happy kiddos.

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Hello Cow

Window art at a storage unit park.

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Can You Smell the Inversion?

Fog and smog trapped against the mountains. It keeps the temperatures cold, too. If you get above it, it's about 10 degrees warmer.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Monday, January 7, 2013

Vintage Cameras

I'm fortunate to be photo-blogging in the digital age. These camera relics are for sale in the Antique Mall.

Sunday, January 6, 2013

Nemo Has Been Found

He's been hanging out near the mall, getting attention for the Boise Aquarium.

Saturday, January 5, 2013

Sunrise at 4 Degrees

The sun may look warm, but it can't break through the inversion.

Friday, January 4, 2013


Boise is in a deep freeze, with low temperatures dipping into the single digits.

Thursday, January 3, 2013

Frozen Morning

Nine degrees greeted the sun this morning.

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

More Snow Sprinkles

Still not much snow for the valley, but the powder coating is pretty.

Tuesday, January 1, 2013