Wednesday, July 31, 2013

In Just 4 Months

At least, I hope it's 4 months away this year.

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Who Remembers When This was a Two-Way Bridge?

It used to terrify me to drive over this bridge. Traffic was so close, especially when a big truck was coming towards you.

Monday, July 29, 2013

Collector Hubcaps

What model(s) featured this style?

Sunday, July 28, 2013

Bicycle Decor

An old bike painted white and outfitted with lights.

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Cooler Weather Has Been Promised

A break in our unusually hot, dry summer is predicted for tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

Friday, July 26, 2013

Poison Ivy Along the Boise River

I took a walk along the Boise River this afternoon and saw plenty of this thriving in our dry, hot conditions: poison ivy. Hopefully, I didn't accidentally brush against it! "Leaves of three, let it be."

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Scary-Looking Bug Story

I've been volunteering this summer in the Ada County Master Gardener Lab. The public brings in plant and bug questions. Look what came in today. This is a horntail (pigeon tremex) - a type of wood wasp that loves to lay eggs in dying trees. It was discovered in a dead maple, and the man who brought it in thought it might have killed his tree. It didn't. It only attacks trees that already dying or dead. BTW - this wasp doesn't sting. The "tail" is the female's ovipositor.

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

River Swimming

Swimming downstream in the Boise River.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Breakfast in the Garden

Female black-chinned hummingbird outside my office window this morning. Have a great day!

Monday, July 22, 2013

The Lion Helped me with Wayfinding

Before I moved to the big city of Boise, a sign similar to this t the Red Lion helped me set my bearings. Boise used to confuse me with all of its one-way streets. It still has a lot of one-way streets.

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Cafe Sign - Know the Location?

I forgot all about this one until I glimpsed it while running errands in Downtown Boise last week.

Saturday, July 20, 2013

Idaho Candy Bar

Someone gave me one of these the other day. Have you ever tried one? It's like a big potato-shaped chocolate marshmallow with coconut on top.

Friday, July 19, 2013

Crazy Socks

Folks attending a "crazy sock" exercise class in Boise last night.

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Oasis in the Scrub

100 degrees nearly every day and yet there are still these hidden treasures to be found when you hike in the sagebrush. There's even a small ephemeral stream still trickling along.

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Bomber Art

Boiseans: Do you know where this mural is located?

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

On the Football Field

No other explanation to offer...

Monday, July 15, 2013

A Mural Change

The mural has been re-done at the Idaho Human Rights Education Center. New view is above. Old one is below.

Sunday, July 14, 2013

And The Winner Is.....

The moment just before the 1st runner-up was announced at the Miss Idaho Scholarship competition last night. Sarah Downs, left, was crowned Miss Idaho 2013. Kaitlyn Anderson, right, was 1st runner-up. Congratulations to all the talented young ladies who competed!

Friday, July 12, 2013

Unexpected Oasis

A tiny stream that comes from the foothills, technically called a flume.

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Super Hot Summer

Whew. Another 100-degree day. I'm not complaining, but this tubby tabby is.

Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Breaking the Rules to Get Cool

The signs say not to get in this fountain at Ann Morrison Park....but, not technically against the law.

Monday, July 8, 2013

Tuba Player Down

This is no accident, though. The movement was part of a drum corps show.

Sunday, July 7, 2013

Just Window Shopping

Wedding cakes on display at Pastry Perfection.

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Summer in Boise

Floating the Boise River from Barber Park to Ann Morrison Park is perfect for these hot days. The float takes about 2 hours and even when it's 100 degrees, that water is c-o-l-d.

Friday, July 5, 2013

Patriot River Floating

The Boise River was packed with floaters for the 4th of July.

Thursday, July 4, 2013

Sidewalk Chalk Art

All ages are invited to compete in this annual event in Ann Morrison Park.

Story Corps

This trailer was in town for a couple of weeks, recording history, vignettes, current events, life stories, and more - all going to the National History Archives. I played the role of "interviewer" for a story. Great experience.

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Drum Corps Show

Drum Corps International held a show at Kuna High School last night. Regional corps competed - from California, Washington and Oregon. Santa Clara Vanguard was a big treat, doing a Les Miserables show.

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Fool's Gold

I wonder how many times these painted rocks have to be replaced? Cute display on an old hand-mining cart.

Monday, July 1, 2013

Bicycles as Decor

The woman who uses this piece as yard art says her son found it at the dump.