Sunday, September 30, 2012

Saturday, September 29, 2012

Sagebrush in Bloom - Something to Cry About?

For folks with allergies, this is a tough time of year.

Friday, September 28, 2012

It's a Real Place

And it looks haunted in real life.

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Smoke Source

A forest fire in Oregon that we drove by yesterday. Fires from all around the West have been sending smoke to Boise.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Broncomania

Boise State University football season is underway.

Monday, September 24, 2012

Pumpkin Season

This one is fine enough for the Fairy Godmother.

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Shed Decay

It kind of looks like a miniature barn.

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Party in the Plaza

Free music at the Boise Center on the Grove every Wednesday during the summer, and a little bit into autumn. It's called "Alive After Five."

Friday, September 21, 2012

Day Three and Still Hardly Any Sun to See

The sun is hiding in the smoke for the third day in a row.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Downtown Shopping

Cute red cart on the sidewalk to promote Atomic Treasures.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Smoky Skies. Again.

The strange-looking sun this morning. Stinky air, too. I don't want autumn to descend too fast, but hard frosts and rain would be helpful to get all the fires under control.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Vintage Cat

Resident cat at the vintage store we visited last weekend.

Monday, September 17, 2012

Blue Chairs

The backyard of the vintage store we visited Saturday.

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Time-Warp Store

Vintage, upcycled pieces and curiosities are behind this door on State Street.

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Farmers Market

And what an incredible price. Happy weekend to you!

Friday, September 14, 2012

Waterfalls

Man-made and very nice. I'd take it for my yard :) Have a great weekend.

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

That's a lot of Wires

My kiddo thought this looked like a monster with two arms coming up from the ground. Big electrical project near a substation. [BTW, A Boise Daily Photo 'extra' is posted every day at http://www.facebook.com/BoiseDailyPhoto]

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Butterfly Still Missing

This bronze sculpture is called "Taking Flight." It's installed outside the Women's and Children's Alliance in Downtown Boise. There used to be a stained glass butterfly in the woman's hand, but it was stolen earlier this year, then returned, then stolen again. Someone has placed a red feather in her hand. I've also seen pinwheels and flowers. It would be nice to see the butterfly again.

Monday, September 10, 2012

But, They Look So Good

Notice posted near some perfect-for-picking berries.

Sunday, September 9, 2012

Newest Little Free Library

Take a book. Leave a book. Boise is home to several of these library branches. For this one, an 8-year-old is the library manager.

Saturday, September 8, 2012

Barber Pool Conservation Area

This wild-ish area and nature trails are behind the Idaho Shakespeare Festival Theatre. We took a stroll before the show last night.

Friday, September 7, 2012

Ring in the Weekend

I wonder if there is a "bell inventory" for Boise? Along with more info. All I know here is what's on the plaque.



Thursday, September 6, 2012

Jalopy Jungle

Bring your tools...and $1.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Deluxe Decay

Fancy barn falling to pieces.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Last Day of the Boise River Float

Busy day on the river. Stand-up paddle boarding, rock-stacking, boogie boarding, swimming, and floaters...even some with bikes on board.




Monday, September 3, 2012

Car on Three Wheels

Car with hydraulics and modifications so it can hop and bounce.

Sunday, September 2, 2012

Art Gallery and Tattoos

Spudshade. Found in Downtown Boise.

Saturday, September 1, 2012

Colorful Weirdness

Seen at the Capital City Public Market.