Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Well, Isn't That the Point?

This book of warnings is part of the display at the Idaho State Historical Museum featuring artifacts from the prohibition era. Maybe someone could resurrect Boise's Best Beer and Bohemian Breweries?

Monday, July 30, 2012

$8 Haircuts

Just a few blocks north of Downtown Boise is Hyde Park. It's a neighborhood full of historic structures, antique shops, boutiques, restaurants and...Vince's Barber Shop.

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Busking Trio

Interesting trio of street musicians in Downtown Boise Saturday morning.

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Prohibition Underground

"Prohibition Underground" at the Idaho State Historical Museum last night. Saints were upstairs playing bingo, while the sinners were in the basement at casino tables.

Friday, July 27, 2012

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Roadside Veggies

And based on the honesty system. Take what you want and leave a payment in the box.

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Vintage Signs in the Clouds

Some parts of Boise experienced a quick rain shower this morning. Now, back to temperatures hovering around 100 degrees. BTW, Creamer Heating and Sheet Metal also offers air conditioning services.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Such a Tease

Painted on the building at Joe's Crab Shack.

Monday, July 23, 2012

Bride and a Bus

Wedding photos in Downtown Boise.

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Hurtt House

The Hurtt House is at the St. Paul Baptist Church. Inside, people in need can receive free clothing.

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Polka Dot Transportation

BTW - no price listed, just a phone number.

Friday, July 20, 2012

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Cobby's Sandwich Boy

Cobby's is a longtime local Boise soup, sandwich and salad restaurant. I like the turkey, bacon, avocado with extra pepperoncinis. All their locations have dark wood paneled walls. The potato chips are "help yourself," as is the fruit.

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Training Wheels and a Cat

Gnomes, too. Found this scene near Hyde Park.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Monday, July 16, 2012


This barn is right on the edge of the agricultural-housing development line. Crops on one side, sea of houses on the other.

Sunday, July 15, 2012

An Owl's Gotta Eat

This short-eared owl, named Copper, wasn't shy about eating his lunch during an educational program at the Cole/Ustick Boise Public Library.

Saturday, July 14, 2012

Icy Treats

Shaved ice shacks are on just about every corner in Boise during the summer. Some say they're "shave ice." Some say they're shaved ice, but they're really snow cones. IMHO: shaved ice is better than a snow cone.

Friday, July 13, 2012

Keeping Cool

Even with the smoke and haze, from wildfires, folks tried to keep cool yesterday by floating the Boise River. Boise's high temperature was 108 degrees. Only Death Valley, California, was hotter.

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Bloody Sunset

Fire season means strange sunrises and sunsets.

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Raft Stack

These rafts are ready to be hauled back to Barber Park - the traditional launch site for rafting/floating the Boise River. The float is about six miles to Ann Morrison Park, where you need to haul it in because of a dam ahead. It costs $45 to rent a small raft, or bring your own, use a rafting tube, inner tube, kayak...we even saw people floating on an air mattress.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Old House in a Sagebrush Sea

The landscape is cooking, as the summer heat finally moves in. It was late this year.

Monday, July 9, 2012

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Floating the Boise River

The view over the nose of my raft while floating the Boise River yesterday. Perfect day for it, with a temperature of 100 degrees. Still, the water was c-o-l-d.

Friday, July 6, 2012

Crash Landing

It seems like we've seen a lot of small plane crashes in Idaho over the past two weeks. This photo was taken by a colleague, who says the pilot was fine and standing right there by the plane. Not every situation has ended that well.

Four Parking Spaces

Sometimes I see people "take two" - either by accident, or thinking it will somehow protect their car from door dingers. This is the first time I've seen someone take four.

Thursday, July 5, 2012


 Fourth of July neighborhood celebration.

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Roman Invader?

Actually, a Boston Crusader. The Crusaders were one of the drum corps performing at Eagle High School last night, and their show won. More photos from the shows below.

Monday, July 2, 2012

Throwing an Order Down the Line

Flying Pie has been voted Boise Best Pizza every since, since I don't know when. They also make pizza fun. Here, they're letting a kiddo throw an order down the order "zip line" to the kitchen.

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Boom. Boom. Boom.

That's what we're hearing every night, now that the fireworks stands are open. Idaho is a strange state when it comes to fireworks laws. You can visit stands just outside of town where you can buy firecrackers, bottle rockets and professional-grade explosives - BUT - it's "illegal" to light them [right]. The stand pictured above sells the milder versions - which are allowed just about everywhere.