Thursday, May 31, 2012

Road Construction Season

What road construction project is most annoying to you right now?

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Tuesday, May 29, 2012


Warmer temps are finally here.

Monday, May 28, 2012

A Thingy

A vintage "thing" behind the Discovery Center of Idaho. A type of drill press?

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Alley Decay

I think these used to be apartments.

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Get Yer Gold Weighed Here

The Assay Office was built in 1871 during Idaho's gold digging days. It's now home to the State Historic Preservation Office.

Friday, May 25, 2012

Hunter Education

Mural at the hunter education center on Chinden Boulevard.

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Hyatt Wetlands

The view this morning over Hyatt Wetlands in West Boise.

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Tiny Ballerinas

Waiting for their turn on the stage during a recital at a local nursing home.

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Muscle by the Shed

Someone's "someday project?"

Monday, May 21, 2012

Eclipse Through Homemade Filters

I don't have a solar filter for my camera, so I used several sheets of x-ray film as a "filter." This was taken at 6:40 p.m.

We didn't see the "ring of fire" eclipse in Boise - although the crescent became small. This photo was taken at 7:26 p.m.

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Spring Foothills

Green grasses tinge the hillsides this time of year.

Friday, May 18, 2012

Happy Hour Starts When You Walk in the Door

Some people call it a dive bar, others say it's a neighborhood bar. I can't believe after all these years in Boise, I've never stepped inside Jim Alibi on Broadway Avenue. But one of its claims to fame is that "happy hour starts the moment you walk in the door."

Thursday, May 17, 2012


And it was T H I S B I G!

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Yep, This is in Town

Love it that Boise still has so many pockets that feel rural.

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Garden Shopping

What are your favorite garden flowers?

Monday, May 14, 2012

Pool Season

A sure sign that there's been a change in the weather.

Sunday, May 13, 2012

Model Solar System

Found this on a post near the Discovery Center. I didn't have time to explore more. I assume there really is a model sun set up somewhere.

Saturday, May 12, 2012


Fierce firetruck logo - Meridian Fire Department.

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Chick Season

Cuties in just about every pond. Found these in Julia Davis Park last night.

Flea Market

A sandwich board nearby said "Buy Mom a Rolex." There is still time to shop for Mother's Day :)

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Boise Music Week - International Dance Show

The Hispanic Folkloric Dancers of Idaho - one of eight groups on stage last night for the International Dance Night of Boise Music Week. Free music and entertainment all week in Boise. Love this town.
Above: The Summerwind Skippers. Below: The Donza Azteca Tonatiuh of Treasure Valley

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

The Grove

As soon as it warms up, this will become a popular spot for the kiddos.

Monday, May 7, 2012

Capitol View from a Parking Garage

Notice that although it's spring in the valley, there's still a bit of snow in view.

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Black Cliffs

The Black Cliffs along the Boise River. Several sections are available for climbing.

Saturday, May 5, 2012

New Health Drink?

Hmm. Hemp "energy" drink?

Friday, May 4, 2012


Two avocets at the Western Idaho Fairgrounds. I think they're cute.

Thursday, May 3, 2012

"Old Boise"

A peek at the part of the area referred to as "Old Boise."

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Glitter Girl Gun

Necklace spotted in a local boutique.