Monday, April 30, 2012

Water Show

Big water being released from Luck Peak Dam. The water doesn't usually shoot up like this, but the "rooster tail" was activated over the weekend. Years ago, this display happened almost every day.

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Seeing is Believing

Construction really is underway at the Boise Hole - a construction site at the core of Downtown Boise that had been abandoned, and litigated, for years. A retail/office/housing building is going up.

Friday, April 27, 2012

April Showers - The Snowy Kind

Hard to believe it was 90 degrees just a few days ago.

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Take Me Fishing

The Idaho Fish and Game "Take Me Fishing" trailer was at McDevitt Pond yesterday afternoon. There are several trailers that go to local fishing ponds all over the state. Kids and families can borrow equipment and learn how to use it, for free. See the schedule by clicking here.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Pull Up a Seat

A vintage classroom chair.

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Pink Petal Shower

After the wind blew last night.

Monday, April 23, 2012

Not Long After the Bell Rang

Lowell Scott middle schoolers walking to Centennial High School for track practice.

Sunday, April 22, 2012


Idaho State Highway, 1960. This small utility cover is at the Boise Depot.

Saturday, April 21, 2012


I don't think it's used as an Independent Order of Odd Fellows hall anymore. The second floor looks like apartments. I believe the building was nominated for the list of national historic places at one point - don't know if it was accepted.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Tough Stuff Shopping

Vintage clothing and custom stitching, studding and leathers. This shop is on Broadway Avenue. I was hoping the "dead alien" would be out front. Where did he go?

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Messing with Vintage Yearbooks

Part of Boise's "Street Art" series to dress up utility boxes downtown.

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Laundry Day

To think at one time, that machine was "modern."

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

The Monkey Says...

Maybe, it's an ape? This parking notice is at the Monkey Bar in Nampa. I've been told there are real monkeys in the bar.

Monday, April 16, 2012

Sunday, April 15, 2012


But only in kiddo sizes?

Saturday, April 14, 2012

Don't Fall In

At least, I think she's holding onto him - and not pushing him.

Friday, April 13, 2012

Boise Depot

Stopped by the depot just before the big storm hit last night. Some areas of town saw half-inch hail.

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Big Deal for Boise

Nordstrom Rack is opening in Boise Thursday. I attended a sneak peek/dress rehearsal last night. I imagine there will be a long line outside the front doors Thursday morning. Disclosure: Nordstrom Rack gave me a gift card and a bottle of water when I attended the event last night. If I hadn't been driving, I would have slurped up a free Cosmopolitan, too.

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Burning Down the Weeds

Nice weather brings out the spring weed-control fire season.

Monday, April 9, 2012

Cloud Contrast

This one may have been trying to stir up a storm.

Saturday, April 7, 2012

Boise River "Bankfull"

Several sections of the Greenbelt are under water. The Boise River is flowing high and fast, as water is released from upstream reservoirs to make room for the spring snow melt.

Friday, April 6, 2012

Full "Pink Moon" is Orange Tonight

A wowzer tonight.

Waiting for the Bus

Of course, there's a sign that says "No Climbing," but I see these kiddos scrambling on the rocks and in the fountain every day. Must be irresistible.

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Fog Surprise

My commute began with a perfectly sunny day, until I hit this fog bank. Seemed to be just at the NW end of the county.

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Pink Spring

The pink-blooming trees starting popping over the weekend.

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Spring Flowers

Yay. Another sign of spring.

Monday, April 2, 2012

Boise's First "Mall"

The Parkcenter Mall was the first "big" indoor mall to open in Boise. It was beautiful. It's no longer a shopping mall. Mostly offices. This used to be a beautiful fountain. It probably still could be.

Sunday, April 1, 2012

Local Dinner Theater

We attended the Xanadu production at Knock 'em Dead dinner theater last night. Great fun!