Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Farm View of the Boise Front

It's kinda of looking like, and feeling like, spring. Not yet, though.

Monday, January 30, 2012

"The Center of it All"

A sign that's been in place for years near the Boise Towne Square Mall. There used to be many car dealerships in the area. Now, there are just a few.

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Dance Recital

Dance recital day for several dance schools in the Boise area. Ballet, lyrical, tap, jazz and hip-hop groups performed.

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Friday, January 27, 2012

Vacuum Art

The vacuums at a car wash on Broadway Avenue in East Boise.

Thursday, January 26, 2012

City of Eagle

Eagle bumps right up to Northwest Boise. Cute "downtown" with historic structures and a Wild West theme.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Christmas Leftovers

I think most Christmas decorations are put away...but surprises keep popping up.

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Monday, January 23, 2012

Bald Eagle - Greatest Hits

Sharing a post from 3 years ago. Dozens of bald eagles winter along the Boise River right in town every year. [gastrointestinal plague has hit our home - hope to have a fresh photo tomorrow]

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Beat Winter Blues with a Disco Ball

Everyone needs a disco ball to get through the dark days of January. This one was shining last night at cosmic bowling.

Saturday, January 21, 2012

Just for the Mountains

Our snow adventures were short-lived. It's all just in the mountains now.

Friday, January 20, 2012

Canada Geese Take Over

They're everywhere this year. Even on roadway landscape islands.

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Snow Collage

Hard to believe...but most of the big snow is gone today. We had six inches in northwest Boise before the rains hit.

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Marshmallow World

A few inches have fallen this morning. Hope the kiddos get a chance to play before it turns to rain.

Is it Really Here?

The snow expected today has been "talked up" for several days. It's just beginning to fall, and the temperature is just barely cold enough for fluffly flakes.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

The Small-Town Mall

We visited a rural town over the weekend. I didn't even know they had a mall.

Monday, January 16, 2012

Bubble Code

Lights outside a Masonic building entrance.

Saturday, January 14, 2012

Trying to *Make* it Snow

Another photo featuring "last season's snow," in hopes it can be lured in for this season...soon.

Friday, January 13, 2012

Snow. Please?

There's an uneasiness brewing in Boise because of the odd lack of snow. This photo is from last winter.

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Sun Dog

A sun dog visited the skies of Boise yesterday afternoon.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Boise's New "No Smoking" Law

Even bars are "no smoking" now. Big change for the City of Trees. Yes, there have been protests and it's still a hot debate.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012


An old cement plant along State Street. I don't *think* it's used anymore. I expect this area will become housing or office/retail space in the years to come. Big box stores are already in place across the street.

Monday, January 9, 2012

Spa Talk

When I read this sign, I realize I don't understand "spa talk."

Sunday, January 8, 2012

You've Heard of Food Trucks. How About a Food Bus?

They weren't open when we were in the neighborhood. I wonder if there's inside seating?

Saturday, January 7, 2012

Plane in Park

At Lakeview park in Nampa.

Friday, January 6, 2012


I see this attitude every once in a while. It's not that common, though.

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Anyone Play Horseshoes Anymore?

In the small town where I grew up, this was a big deal - but I haven't heard anyone even mention playing for decades.

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

"Buying Guns and Gold"

That's what the sign out front said.

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

When Did Bowling Balls Get So Artsy?

These are at the newest bowling alley in town: Pinz. Big screens, too, so you don't miss any "bowl" games...seriously, bowl games were on while we were bowling. How cool is that?

Monday, January 2, 2012

Roller Skating Adventures

To find a rink, you have to drive to nearby Nampa. This Rollerdrome has been around for a few decades.

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Happy New Year!

A zoom shot into the mountains, and finally, there is some snow.