Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Boise: Home to More Than BSU Bronco Fans

Boise is Boise State University football crazy this time of year, but there are a lot of University of Idaho Vandal fans, too.

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Beer-Stealing Gopher

Bad day of golf? That was the theme of one of the entries at the Festival of Trees this year.

Monday, November 28, 2011

Down by the River

Clear skies and cold temps over the weekend. This time last year, we were still digging out from a snowstorm.

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Christmas: Angry Birds Edition

Clever tabletop display at the Festival of Trees.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Festival Soldier

One of two standing guard at the entrance to the Festival of Trees.

Friday, November 25, 2011

Shopping Today?

The Mall Santa pictured above...he's been open for business for a week or so. No shopping for us today. We're headed to the Festival of Trees in Downtown Boise.

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Swans in Julia Davis Park?

I noticed them last week and stopped to take pictures last night. Maybe they're wintering here? If you're a birder, be sure to stop by this pond soon. Quite a variety of waterfowl not usually seen during the summer in this pond, including shovelers, widgeons, and bufflehead.

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Monday, November 21, 2011

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Do Pigs Eat Pumpkins?

Out with the pumpkins and in with the Christmas trees, eh? These pumpkins were being loaded up at Fred Meyer to go to....a hog farm.

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Sunset at the Boise Depot

About another month before the days get longer again?

Friday, November 18, 2011


Do you see the typo? By the way, this is one of my favorite events each year.

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Giant Bling

This family-owned business has been around for more than 60 years. This sign is an icon on Vista Avenue.

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

View from the Boise Depot Last Night

Crisp and cold...still waiting for more mountain snow.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Free Pie

What's the catch? Nothing. Some people starting a new church offered the freebies to get to know the neighborhood.

Monday, November 14, 2011

I Wish I Was....

Seen at Fred Meyer over the weekend. I think it's on tour in this area about every six months.

Sunday, November 13, 2011

I'll Take One, Please

A bowl of treats at the Boise Food Truck Rally.

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Outdoor Heater

This is the way we all used to do it before those fancy propane heaters. Burn barrels were set up for warmth at the Idaho Foodbank Food Truck Rally last night.

Friday, November 11, 2011

Clever Restaurant Sign

And one of my favorite dinners :)

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Snow-Frosted Evergreens

The snowline matches the mountain treeline.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Hello Buffalo

A pair of bison spotted in this Southeast Boise, a bunny bonus.

Monday, November 7, 2011


A memorial plaque on a stone bench at the Boise Depot. We're so fortunate to have a mountain view every day in Boise.

Sunday, November 6, 2011

Boise is Beautiful

And that's all I have to say today :)

Saturday, November 5, 2011


Breezy days mean weeds like this get a free ride to a new neighborhood.

Friday, November 4, 2011

First Snow of the Season

It's a super-light, non-stick variety, but still counts as the first snow of the season in Boise.

The Sparrow House

Hello? Anybody home? I don't think so. This old house is on East Boise Avenue. The sign on the door says Sparrow 1977. A Google search shows that "The Sparrow" is the name of an album released that year by Cathie Taylor. There was also a Baretta episode in 1977, "Don't Kill the Sparrow."

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Tree Mushrooms

A variety of fungi growing on a decaying tree trunk.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011