Sunday, July 31, 2011

Dusty Thunderstorm

Looking south over a sea of sagebrush when the storms rolled in.

Saturday, July 30, 2011

Man Climbs Pole to Get Away From Children

A scene from the TRICA production of the Green Eggs and Ham scene in the Seussical musical. Seen in the Linen Building.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Have You Seen This Duck?

He's my favorite feature of the murals on the back of the Linen Building.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Raise the Shade

One of several "window" murals on the side of the Idaho Youth Ranch thrift store building. Busy place yesterday. They have a nice selection of used grills and lawn equipment.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Knit Graffiti

Also known as "yarn bombing." Knitters added color to bike racks and other fixtures in downtown Boise recently. The bike rack is at the Linen Building.

Monday, July 25, 2011

Precious Pickup Cargo

My kiddo thinks this would be a cool thing to do - ride in the back of a truck. Being the mean mom I am, I told her she wasn't going to get the opportunity. (of course, I did it when I was a kid...but that was different)According to Idaho law, while people must be buckled up inside the cab, there is no law against kids or adults riding in the back.

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Floating the Boise

The floating season is open. Raft, tube, kayak - your choice from Barber Park to Ann Morrison Park. About six miles.

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Is it Real?

Nope. One of those plastic owls that is supposed to keep other birds, and rodents, away. I've seen mixed reviews on whether they work as intended. And for something fun, you can watch a video of a bird attacking a fake owl. Click here for the show on the Birdchick's blog.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Chip Seal Season

The wet-looking road has just received a coat of oil. Next, a truck dumps rock pieces on the oil and crushers crunch them into the oil. The gravel isn't fun to drive on. It's dusty, and flying rocks chip and crack windshields. But we're told this process means fewer potholes and extends the life of roadways.

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Biggest Bee I've Ever Seen

It's bug world this week at Boise Daily Photo. Last night, I saw the biggest bee I've ever seen. I'd guess it was an inch long. Look at those dangly legs, and in the picture below, the brown wings. Maybe a type of bumble bee? Appropriately, it was feeding on bee balm.

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Earwig Haiku

I abhor earwigs

Nasty pincers are creepy

Ruined zinnias

Feel free to add your own....

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Crop Duster

This plane was doing swoops over several fields, spraying them, probably with pesticides. Yes, the pilot did seem really close to the power lines. By the way, I took this photo last week. The snow seen on the Owyhee Mountains is gone now.

Monday, July 18, 2011

Grilling Rocket

My husband pointed this out. So, he tells me that Costco sells this giant propane tank that probably isn't meant to be used with a grill. I bet it lasts a long time between refills, though.

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Pop's Popcorn Popularity

Pop's Popcorn on Chinden shares the goodies with birds.

Saturday, July 16, 2011

Knock, Knock

This little guy was bumping on the glass patio door yesterday morning. I'll guess he was telling me that the bird feeder was empty.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Imported Mountain Scene

Looks like the full moon is rising in the mountains by a meadow. It's fancy landscaping at a subdivision and I like it.

An Idaho Small-Town Relic

I thought maybe this one was still open, but no, only the sign remains. King's was a fixture in the small town where I grew up, and the discount stores were common around the state. Are any still open? King's carried toys...and other things, but when I was kid, the toys were most important.

Thursday, July 14, 2011

There Really is Such a Thing as a....

A church lunch offering, I dogs and the goodies below.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Horned Grille

We don't see longhorn decor often in Boise...

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Trash Questions

These old TVs and monitors need an easy home. Trash won't pick them up. Recycling won't pick them up. These folks have ended up just storing them in their yard.

Monday, July 11, 2011


Took a short bike ride through my own neighborhood last night. Summer is beautiful here.

Sunday, July 10, 2011

Roadside Evangelism

We're enjoying a beautiful weekend in Boise.

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Friday, July 8, 2011

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Interesting Food Marketing

Or maybe it really isn't about the food?

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Looking for Shade

The neighbor cat chose this unusual napping place by our front door during the heat of the day. Maybe there's a cool spot for his nose under the daylily.

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Moon Show

The view along our street last night during a lull in explosions.

Monday, July 4, 2011

In Case Anyone Needs a Covered Wagon

Here's a lead on one. Happy 4th of July!

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Seems Reasonable

The "rules" posted outside a local business. Who wouldn't wear pants? Well, it happened recently in North Idaho. Read about it by clicking here.

Saturday, July 2, 2011

Sunset Hyssop

An easy-growing perennial for our area, this plant sends up tall multi-colored spikes that attract butterflies and hummingbirds. The foliage smells like licorice. One of my garden favorites.

Friday, July 1, 2011

Cottonwood Fluff

Aviana collected cottonwood fluff during a nature walk along the Boise River this week. Thank you to Idaho Rivers United for the tour.