Saturday, December 31, 2011

Winter Thunderstorm

As it rolled in last night....

Friday, December 30, 2011


Wild thunderstorm with hail tonight.

Snow Wishes

Really. We're supposed to have snow in Boise in December. This picture is from last December. Lots of rain today.

Thursday, December 29, 2011

It's 100 Degrees? Wait...

The temperature the other day. Brr.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Critter Clues

Critter tracks in the tiny bit of snow we awakened to yesterday morning.

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Bah Humbug

You may need to click for the enlarged photo to see the message. I wonder what the story is?

Monday, December 26, 2011

Cleared for Take-Off?

As seen along Chinden Boulevard.

Friday, December 23, 2011

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Boise's Resident Reindeer

Free to see every day of the year. This is one of the smaller ones, who was very friendly yesterday. They're behind Cloverdale Funeral Home.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Monday, December 19, 2011

Nothing Says Christmas Like a John Deere

Oh, didn't you know Santa drives a tractor in some areas of Idaho?

Sunday, December 18, 2011

Christmas Movie Week

Which movies will you be watching this week?

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Junior "Santa"

Santa suit races at a local elementary school for the school Christmas party.

Friday, December 16, 2011

Santa Baby...Doll

I wish I had this cute set in my collection.

Thursday, December 15, 2011

He's Comin' to Town

Santa and his helpers getting ready to meet with kiddos.

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Pink Reindeer

I never knew there was such a thing :)

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

What on Top of Your Tree?

A salute to A Christmas Story - seen at the Festival of Trees.

Monday, December 12, 2011

House Finch

If you have a backyard bird feeder, you know this one well. He's always looking for a snack.

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Protest Campout

One of the signs at the Occupy Boise camp in front of the old courthouse. Only a few folks camped out the night we strolled through. It's been awfully cold.

Saturday, December 10, 2011

Saturday Caturday

See the ferocious fluff in the background?

Friday, December 9, 2011

Bus Art

I consider it a lucky day when I see this art-wrapped bus. I wish we had more of them in the fleet.

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Wild West Christmas Wreath

Maybe better described as an antler swag. This creativity won a prize at the Festival of Trees.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Shopping Rage?

And if you can't beat them...use pepper spray?

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Hauling the Tree Home

Have you done this yet? I did some reporting for my real job this year about the resurgence in popularity of 'real' trees. Another tidbit: the first artificial tree ever produced was manufactured by a toilet brush company.

Monday, December 5, 2011

Capitol Tree

The Christmas tree in front of the Idaho Statehouse. The tree is "donated" by someone who has one that's overgrown its space - so it's not always a perfect shape. But I love that it has so many lights.

Sunday, December 4, 2011

Saturday, December 3, 2011

Holiday Windows

A sample of Downtown Boise holiday window art.

Friday, December 2, 2011

Barbie Gets a Mammogram

Mobile mammogram display at the Festival of Trees. There were a couple of pink ribbon-themed trees this year.

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Purple Potato Soup

I wish I had grown these. Bright purple potatoes were a feature in my Full Circle organic delivery box this week.

1. boil sliced potatoes in salted water
2. drain and cool slightly
3. lightly saute minced garlic and onion (shallot if you can get one)
4. add potatoes and garlic to a food processor
5. pulse in about a 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1 cup of chicken broth
6. adjust seasoning - salt and white pepper and a little bit of horseradish
7. stir in a swirl of heavy cream
8. top with grated cheese and fresh ground pepper
9. re-heat, if needed

Boise Hole: Your Days are Numbered?

There's a new plan for The Hole in Downtown Boise - a building is planned. The hole has been walled off with art for years, but it's easy to peek through the edges to see the pit filled with rebar and weeds. The site was once home to the Overland Hotel, and later the Eastman Building/Hotel. It burned down in the mid 1980s.

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Boise: Home to More Than BSU Bronco Fans

Boise is Boise State University football crazy this time of year, but there are a lot of University of Idaho Vandal fans, too.

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Beer-Stealing Gopher

Bad day of golf? That was the theme of one of the entries at the Festival of Trees this year.

Monday, November 28, 2011

Down by the River

Clear skies and cold temps over the weekend. This time last year, we were still digging out from a snowstorm.

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Christmas: Angry Birds Edition

Clever tabletop display at the Festival of Trees.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Festival Soldier

One of two standing guard at the entrance to the Festival of Trees.

Friday, November 25, 2011

Shopping Today?

The Mall Santa pictured above...he's been open for business for a week or so. No shopping for us today. We're headed to the Festival of Trees in Downtown Boise.

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Swans in Julia Davis Park?

I noticed them last week and stopped to take pictures last night. Maybe they're wintering here? If you're a birder, be sure to stop by this pond soon. Quite a variety of waterfowl not usually seen during the summer in this pond, including shovelers, widgeons, and bufflehead.

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Monday, November 21, 2011

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Do Pigs Eat Pumpkins?

Out with the pumpkins and in with the Christmas trees, eh? These pumpkins were being loaded up at Fred Meyer to go to....a hog farm.

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Sunset at the Boise Depot

About another month before the days get longer again?

Friday, November 18, 2011


Do you see the typo? By the way, this is one of my favorite events each year.

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Giant Bling

This family-owned business has been around for more than 60 years. This sign is an icon on Vista Avenue.