Friday, December 31, 2010

Stack Rock Zoom

Crystal clear and icy cold day in Boise yesterday. This is a zoom in on Stack Rock. I think the sky looks like a lake from this perspective. Happy New Year!

Thursday, December 30, 2010

Almost Looks Like Spring

Gardening supplies neatly stored behind this shed. Lots of rain has melted the valley snow and yes, the grass really IS still that green in many yards.

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Organizing Photo Files

Just going through old photo files for the end of the year here at - and discovering surprise photos taken by others. This one might have been from a couple of years ago :)

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

High Schoolers Can Win a Car

I don't know all the details, but this freebie car has been displayed at Capital High School.

Monday, December 27, 2010

Boise River Wetlands

Restoration work underway along the north side of the Boise River.

Sunday, December 26, 2010

Lost and Found: Binky Edition

In the hustle and bustle of holiday shopping, this pacifier got left behind. I hope that family had a spare on standby.

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Merry Christmas!

We attended the Grace Anglican Church Christmas Eve service at the Augustana Chapel last night, downtown Boise. Merry Christmas to you!

Friday, December 24, 2010

Merry Christmas Eve

Got kiddos at your house? Mine is crazy with anticipation and happiness. That's a good thing :)

Thursday, December 23, 2010

Christmas Tree Traditions

Some don't trim the tree until Christmas Eve, others start as early as Thanksgiving weekend. This is our tree. I suffer from an affliction where I always think there's room for "just one more ornament" on the tree. It might be maxed out, so...time for a bigger tree?

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Rockettes Christmas Show: Nativity Scene

We went to the Rockettes show yesterday afternoon - the touring version that came to Boise. I think everyone has seen the high-kick line, but the Christmas show explores all kinds of stories ranging from the magic of New York City, to Santa, to the birth of Christ. Loved it all!

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Idaho Steelheads Snowman with Heart

I know this is a hockey fan snowman because he's wearing an Idaho Steelheads cap :)

Monday, December 20, 2010

Sunday, December 19, 2010

LED Christmas Lights

I saw quite a discussion online about the LED lights on the Rockefeller Center tree in New York City. Seemed mostly critical, with folks taking issue with the "cool" color of the lights, compared to the "warm" color of traditional lights. What do you think? The lights above are LED.

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Friday, December 17, 2010

Christmas Soldiers

Here we go! Holiday themed photos are taking over Wonderful time of year :)

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Fence Brightens Up a Dreary Day

The foggy-misty-rainy weather has been persistent, although we did get some sunshine breaks yesterday. For the rest of the month, I'm going to overdose on Christmas and holiday-themed images :)

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Taking a Tuba for a Walk

I was hoping he was going to set up on a corner and play Christmas tunes...but no such luck.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

River Art

Last time I featured this art carved into a wall in Downtown Boise, the neon highlights weren't lit. It was nice to see them brightening up the display last weekend. The piece was inspired by the Boise River, which runs through town.

Monday, December 13, 2010

Fly Fishing in December

Not everyone can do this downtown, and in December. This man was fly fishing near Boise State University.

Sunday, December 12, 2010

Stars of the Stage

Some of the stars after the show posing for photos. Loved the Ballet Idaho production.

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Nutcracker Day

We're off to see the Ballet Idaho production of the Nutcracker today.

Friday, December 10, 2010

So...We've Had Some Fog

Visibility was just a few hundred feet most of yesterday. I think we're all ready to see the sun again :)

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Happy Traffic

A bright thought for our gray-day weather.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Whiteout View

It's hard to tell exactly where the mountain meets the sky because of all the fog. And this was a moment of clearing compared to most of the day :)

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Snow Fun Melting Away

A trio of raggedy-looking snowmen. Our winter wonderland is melting away.

Monday, December 6, 2010

Icy Roads Oopsie

Icy patches can take folks by surprise.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Cold Comfort?

Front yard seating year-round.

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Fountain Snow

One of my favorite local fountains this week after the snow.

Friday, December 3, 2010

Happy Snowman, Cold Kid

Snow play is coming to an end after our big storm. Temperatures are warming up again. By the way, when I make a snowman, it never looks this good.

Thursday, December 2, 2010


Kids tie onto car and truck bumpers with sleds, tubes and boards. Yep, it's dangerous, but that's probably why they do it :)

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

American Kestrel

American kestrels are the hawks we usually see perched on power lines. This one was making a racket in my backyard yesterday. I think he caught something. Maybe a small bird? And if you visit Boise Daily Photo Garden Shot today, you'll see another hawk that also visited the yard yesterday. Not sure of the identification, but it ate an Oregon junco. (Click the bird photo on the right side bar to go to that blog)