Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Red Sky at Night...

Just before the sun dropped for the night, and right after a series of storms last night.

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Tricky Biking

I think this is mainly a skateboard park, but it's great for stunt bikers, too.

Monday, June 28, 2010

Lunch To-Go

A robin carrying a 'worm pretzel' to a juvenile robin. My husband took this photo.

Sunday, June 27, 2010

Deli Days Afternoon

We enjoyed sitting in front of the Ahavath Beth Israel Synagogue Friday afternoon for their annual "deli days." Good food, free music and nice people.

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Summer Storms

Just another evening of summer storms...

Friday, June 25, 2010

Duck on a Log

A great resting/hiding spot in a wetlands along the Boise River.

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Water Experiments

The Discovery Center of Idaho presented experiments in water outside the Garden City Library yesterday. It was part of their "make and take" Wednesday afternoon educational series.

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Noisy, Hungry "Kids"

Awful, screeching noises awakened me yesterday morning....and see that bird on the left? He's to blame, along with his brothers and sisters. The yellow-headed blackbirds brought their "kids" to the yard...and bird feeders. The bird on the left is a juvenile male, the bird on the right is his mom - and he's already bigger than her! She answered his squealing and fed him :)

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Flooding on the Greenbelt

Postings near here declare this section of the Greenbelt closed "due to flooding."

Monday, June 21, 2010

Golf Course View

View from the clubhouse at BanBury Golf Course - a public golf course near the South Channel of the Boise River.

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Banished to the Car

Pretty dog, but must not be welcome where his people are visiting.

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Cute Mailbox

Does this mean a school bus driver lives here?

Friday, June 18, 2010

"Just Emerged" Painted Lady

This painted lady butterfly had just emerged yesterday afternoon. We're expecting nine more of these beauties over the next few days in my daughter's "butterfly pavilion." We'll set them free in the backyard.

Thursday, June 17, 2010

Who Lives Here?

I believe it's really a storage shed, although it looks like a fancy children's play house.

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Just for Dogs

This is in front of the Bandanna running store in downtown Boise.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Back Alley Waterway

One of the many canals throughout town, delivering water for our yards and gardens...and farms.

Monday, June 14, 2010

Keep on Truckin'

An oldie spied in a Boise front yard.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Upside-Down Tomatoes

I've seen a lot of those "upside down tomato" kits in stores the past couple of years. This is a homemade version. I don't know how well they work. This plant doesn't look too happy to me.

Saturday, June 12, 2010

Royal Treatment

Someone received the royal treatment yesterday. A fun party idea. It was breezy, so the red carpet didn't want to stay in place.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Finally, Sunny Skies...Kinda

Amazing to me how everything is so green, which is thanks to the unusual rain and cool temperatures we've been seeing. This is a view from the first bench looking northwest.

Thursday, June 10, 2010

It's Raining Again

A few rain showers yesterday as our unusually wet late spring continues. Boise did brighten up yesterday afternoon for a while :)

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

The Short House

This house was built in 1906, and at one point was deemed one of the most beautiful by the local newspaper. Officially, it is the O.F. Short House - named after the farmer who built it. The cobblestones came from the Boise River.

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Road Construction Season

Everywhere I went yesterday, I ran into a road project. What's the construction forecast in your part of the world?

Monday, June 7, 2010

Go Ahead and Write on the Walls

My mom signed the wall at Rick's Press Club in Meridian over the weekend.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Ranch Club

The Ranch Club has a long history in the Boise area. It was one of just a few places with slot machines, before those were outlawed...or, maybe it had slots when they were illegal :) A recent update on the grounds: they added horseshoe courts.

Saturday, June 5, 2010

Interesting Home Outdoor Appliance

I don't have one of these in my front yard, but I imagine it could come in handy.

Friday, June 4, 2010

Fresh Flower Scent for the Commode

Happy weekend! A sampling of the decor outside Donnie Mac's.

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Quail Eggs

One of my daughter's friends was very proud to show me this. She "found" these eggs while visiting her grandmother. I told her "thank you for showing me..." and to leave them in the nest next time ;)

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Log Jam

I wonder...does this just happen naturally along the Boise River banks? Or, are there "helpers?"

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Funny Signs - a Combo Deal for CDP Theme Day

The June first theme day at City Daily Photo is "funny signs." These neighboring signs "Five Guys, Spoon Me" have become a bit of a local legend that makes commuters along Eagle Road smile. See all the funny sign entries by clicking here.