Monday, May 31, 2010

Hungry Mouths to Feed

Mrs. house sparrow feeding one of her recent fledglings.

Sunday, May 30, 2010

High-Rise Bird Condos

A familiar sight along State Street. A snag that became high-value bird real estate.

Saturday, May 29, 2010

Hidden in the Weeds

Some kind of equipment is hiding behind the weeds near the Boise Foothills.

Friday, May 28, 2010

Female Yellow-Headed Blackbird

Poor little girl. She had a run-in with a window this week. I put her in a hanging basket to recover...and she did.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Sweetheart Gazebo

My daughter and I took a quick nature walk around the Zamzow's on Chinden yesterday. I didn't know that this greenery and gazebo could be found at the end of the pathway. This couple was talking about using the area for their wedding :)

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

The Rules of the Cow Pasture

The rules are pretty clear :)

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

First Strawberry

The first strawberry of the season.

Monday, May 24, 2010

Front Row Seat

At the market downtown over the weekend.

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Free Downtown Entertainment

My daughter thought the name of this string quartet was "Space for Lease." What a nice treat to listen to these kids while we attended the Capital City Market downtown yesterday. We didn't stay as long as we had planned because it became so cold and rainy.

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Kiddo Fun - Bumper Boats

We spent yesterday afternoon and evening at Wahooz Family Fun Center. My daughter and a friend played for 5 hours - bumper boats, race cars, laser tag, arcade games and miniature golf.

Friday, May 21, 2010

Camouflaged Babies

How many can you see? This mother goose chose a little island in the Boise River for her new family.

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Sawn Logs Along the River

My daughter and I took a walk along the north side of the Boise River last night. The colors on the cut ends got a closer examination.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Chicken! I think...

A surprise by the roadside during my travels yesterday....I've never seen one of these kinds of chickens before. It's cute.

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Trash Day

No, this is not a public toilet :) It's an item for trash day pick-up. In our city, you can call the trash company to send a speical truck to collect large or heavy items, such as old appliances and furniture...and there's no extra charge.

Monday, May 17, 2010

Yard Sale Season

Yard sale season was well underway over the weekend with our nice weather.

Sunday, May 16, 2010

A Sign of Summer

The shaved ice and snow ice shacks are showing up in parking lots. What's your favorite flavor? I prefer shaved ice over snow ice...with pina colada syrup.

Saturday, May 15, 2010

Friday, May 14, 2010

Public Art or Graffiti?

My hope today is that this isn't a bad word in disguise. I can read the "free" at the bottom but that's it. I need a graffiti interpreter. Happy Friday!

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Canals of Boise

The canals that criss-cross Boise and the valley are full, as water is being released from reservoirs upstream. This is how we can have green lawns and crops in our semi-arid desert.

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Kingdom-Building

I wish I had been able to catch the kids in action, but by the time I returned to the site with my camera, mom must have called them home for dinner. They made a cool fort, though, with "recycled materials."

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Yellow-Headed Blackbird

They're bright, loud and hungry. Yellow-headed blackbirds have been taking advantage of the offerings in the platform feeders.

Monday, May 10, 2010

Good Morning from Boise!

Just before sunrise yesterday morning.

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Wonder What the Story Is?

I've seen this fellow in Garden City, along State Street, and all over West Boise. Maybe he collects recyclables?

Friday, May 7, 2010

Trash Becomes Art

A good-looking trash can/ash tray spotted outside of the Downtown Boise Library.

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Remarkable Storms

Another round of storms and chilly weather for Boise this week. This was the view of the Boise Front during a light hail storm yesterday evening. The downtown Cinco de Mayo party I was going to attend was canceled because of the weather.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Paper City

A "paper city" on display at Garden City Hall. This was done by students at a charter school. I think it's a vision for the future of Garden City.

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Starting to See Green

A sun break highlights the subtle green creeping into the Boise Front.

Monday, May 3, 2010

Motorcycle Parade

We were making our way back to our car over the weekend, but couldn't cross the street for a while because there was a motorcycle parade. Hundreds of bikers cruised by. It was fun to watch.

Sunday, May 2, 2010

Weed Rally on Capitol Boulevard

We stumbled across these folks as we were leaving the Boise Music Week performances at the Gene Harris Bandshell in Julia Davis Park. "Honk if you love weed," "weed not speed," and a little kid holding a sign, "Don't lie to me." Look closely to see one of the sign holders taking a puff. Later in the afternoon, there were hundreds of people lining Capitol Boulevard for this cause.

Saturday, May 1, 2010

City Day Photo Theme Day for May: Statues

One of the guardians of the stage inside the Egyptian Theatre in Boise. See all the City Daily Photo theme day interpretations by clicking here.